Holiday in Greece

I had a wonderful experience in Turkey 2 years ago with an organized tour by gadventures.com. So when I saw a sale for one of its tours to Greece this spring, I jumped on it for the percentage savings…

After ruminating over the prospect of 2 weeks at sea with 7 other travelers this summer, I backed out of the tour and decided to go on my own with a Rick Steves guidebook in hand. This is not a knock against adventures.com I just decided that since I am not a good swimmer to start with, I rather make sure my holiday includes enough hiking and museums, which are my default activities over long weekend getaways. 

Just about everyone I asked tells me that traveling in Greece with just English will be fine. English is their second language in school. I found just enough time to learn the first lesson in “Living Language Greek” a month before departure. I cannot say anything beyond thank you and good morning, but at least I can recognize all the Greek alphabets and pronounce words in Greek of the time.

With that minimal preparation and first two nights of hostel reservation in Athens made just two days prior to departure, off to Greece I went. 

 

Back to the index page for my travel in Greece series.

Leave a Reply

