Greek Holiday Stop 6

My next stop would be Delphi (Δελφοί), the sanctuary that housed the Oracle. Wikipedia page on Delphi.

The websites I use to make reservations showed several hotels offering rooms, but the prices were not anywhere as low as I was paying in Καλαμπάκα. I felt brave. I would go bargain for lower prices in person. It started to rain when I reached Delphi. My plan of taking time to shop around suddenly did not look so smart. The hotel highly recommended by Rick Steves did not have room anymore. Should I wonder around in pouring rain to save a few euros? The owner of the second hotel I asked quoted the same price I saw on Bookings.com. When I asked if that was the best price he could offer for cash, he gave me €2. That’s hardly any savings from €32 a night for a small room with no view, but I took it. I was not in best position to hone my bargaining skills that afternoon.

As luck would have it, the rain stopped a few minutes after I set down my bags in my room. So I didn’t save as much as I had hoped, but I gained back the time to visit the archeological site and would not need to stay an extra night. I am too good at cutting myself some slack…

I thought the polygonal wall was quite stunning. How did they put together a nearly flat retaining wall without laser cutters?

g1x02171g1x02172

The theater has a great view of the sanctuary and the valley below. img_3497

Stadium for the Pythian Games, one of the four panhellenic games.
img_3500

The light was much better for photography the next morning, but I had a bus to catch. If I missed the morning bus, I would have to stay an extra night in Athens before reaching my next destination.
G1X02213 The Tholos at the sanctuary of Athena Pronoia (Ἀθηνᾶ Πρόνοια) G1X02214

View from the bus stop. IMG_3530

While waiting for bus, I had a nice chat with a fellow from Scotland. He thought I was crazy to have stayed only one night at Delphi. He stayed 4 nights to do some hiking in the area and meditation in caves. He got a lot closer to the spirits than I did. No wonder I received no answers when I asked the Oracle who I should vote for in the coming US Presidential election…

 

Back to the index page for my travel in Greece series.

Leave a Reply

