People that care

2 days before I was to depart for my trip to Italy, I received an email from the hostel of my first stop.

Dear L’Imbarcadero Guests,

We are Ingrid and Gina, your two hostesses at L’Imbarcadero Hostel on Christmas Eve. To celebrate Christmas and provide a warm evening to you at the hostel, we are planning a wonderful and delicious restaurant-quality, but hostel-casual dinner for December 24th. Our hostel will have only 13 guests and we want to celebrate with you like a big, international family!

Here is the Menu for our Cena di Natale
Aperitivo
Snacks of olives, nuts, and crisps
Antipasto
Variety of bruschetta with salumi and cheese, cold salmon, and vegetables
Primo
Onion consommé with garlic herbed crostini
Secondo
Baked pumpkin with shrimp or braised beef shortribs with polenta
Contorno
Cold salad of fennel and orange
Dolce
Pandoro, traditional Italian Christmas Cake
Caffè
Digestivo

I signed up for the dinner right away. It was a good decision not just because I thought stores and restaurants might close early on Christmas Eve. The meal was prepared with care and love by two nice ladies who did not have to do this for us hostel guests.

The food was good and atmosphere so warm that I forgot to take photos of the rest of meal after I sat down with my plate of antipasto…

Thank you, Gina and Ingrid. The meal was a very nice and you two make difference. I was very lucky to come when you work there.

G1X03048

G1X03047

G1X03055

L’Imbarcadero
Santa Croce 1268, Calle zen, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy

Leave a Reply

